State Board Membership

The California Workforce Development Board (State Board) is responsible for assisting the Governor in performing the duties and responsibilities required by the federal Workforce Investment Act of 1998.

All members of the Board are appointed by the Governor and represent the many facets of workforce development - business, labor, public education, higher education, economic development, youth activities, employment and training, as well as the Legislature. Board members are now afforded the opportunity to become acquainted with membership duties via our Board Orientation/On-Boarding Packet.

The Board meets on a regular basis and the public is encouraged to attend the meetings. Decisions are reached through a collaborative process.

The Board's Strategic Plan directs its work in providing guidance to the statewide workforce investment system.

State Board Members

Dr. I. Angelov Farooq, Chair
Owner - AVM Innovation Consulting, LLC

Josh Becker
Chief Executive Officer - Lex Machina

Robert Beitcher
President and Chief Executive Officer - Motion Picture and Television Fund

John Brauer
WED Executive Director - California Federation of Labor

Jerome Butkiewicz
San Diego Gas and Electric

Hon. Anna Caballero
California State Senator, District 12

Bill Camp
Executive Board - Sacramento Labor Council

Jamil Dada
Senior Financial Manager - Provident Bank-Riverside County Branches

Lee Ann Eager
President/CEO - Fresno County Economic Development Corporation

Diane Factor
Director - Worker Education and Resource Center (SEIU 721)

Dean Fealk
Partner & Co-Chair, International Labor and Employment practice, DLA Piper

Larry Frank
President - Los Angeles Trade-Technical College

Michael Gallo
President and Chief Executive Officer - Kelly Space and Technology, Inc.

Mark Ghaly, M.D., M.P.H.
Secretary - California Health and Human Services Agency

Jason Haider
Founder - Xenco Medical

Patrick W. Henning Jr.
Director, Employment Development Department

Chris Hill
Chief Strategy Officer - Mycotoo, Inc.

Gary King
Chief Workforce Officer - Sacramento Municipal Utility District

Stephen Levy
Director and Senior Economist - Center for Continuing Study of the California Economy

Hon. Connie Leyva
California State Senator, District 20

Hilary D. Lentini
President and Chief Executive Officer - Lentini Design and Marketing, Inc.

Laura Long
Director of National Workforce Planning and Development - Kaiser Permanente

James Mangia
President and Chief Executive Officer - St. John's Well Child and Family Center

Rebecca Miller
Workforce Director - SEIU United Healthcare Workers-West (UHW)

Stephen Monteros
Vice President of Operations and Strategic Initiatives - SIGMAnet

Lisa Mortenson
Chief Executive Officer - American Biodiesel Inc. dba Community Fuels

Hon. Kevin Mullin
Representative - California State Assembly

Eloy Ortiz Oakley
Chancellor - California Community Colleges

Robert Redlo
Consultant - Doctors Medical Center

Nicole Rice
Policy Director, Government Relations - California Manufacturing Technology Association

Charles Riojas
Secretary-Treasurer -- Fresno, Madera, Tulare, Kings Building Trades Council

Hon. Rudy Salas
Representative - California State Assembly

Alma Salazar
Vice President for Education and Workforce Development - Los Angeles Chamber of Commerce

Fabrizio Sasso
Executive Director - Sacramento Labor Council

Jeremy Smith
Deputy Legislative Director - State Building and Construction Trades Council of California

Anette Smith-Dohring
Workforce Development Manager - Sutter Health Sacramento-Sierra Region

Abby Snay
Executive Director - Jewish Vocational Services, San Francisco

Bruce Stenslie
President and Chief Executive Officer - Economic Development Collaborative, Ventura County

Peter Stern
Senior Vice President of Corporate Development - Inxeption
Airport Commissioner - San Francisco International Airport

Julie Su
Secretary - Labor and Workforce Development Agency

Hon. Tony Thurmond
State Superintendent of Public Instruction - California Department of Education

Floyd Trammell
Executive Director - West Bay Local Development Corporation

Joseph Williams
Public Affairs Manager - Southern California Edison

Joe Xavier
Director - Department of Rehabilitation

Gloria Young
President & Chief Executive Officer - Young and Lamay Associates

Carol Zabin
Research Director - University of California, Berkeley Center for Labor Research and Education