State Board Executive Committee

The State Board Executive Committee is a Standing Committee. It is chaired by the State Board Chair and its required membership includes the Vice-Chair, the chairs of the Special Committees, the Secretary of the Labor and Workforce Development Agency, and the Executive Director of the State Board. The State Board Chair also has the discretion to appoint additional members to the State Board Executive Committee as deemed appropriate.

The State Board Executive Committee meets as required by State Board meetings, issues, activities, and workflow. It provides recommendations to the full State Board regarding standing committee assignments; coordinates the work of standing, special, and ad hoc committees; develops agendas for State Board meetings; and, in instances where urgency and time constraints do not permit items to be acted upon by the full State Board, takes necessary actions and makes necessary commitments on behalf of the State Board. All such actions and commitments shall be subject to ratification by the full State Board at its next regularly scheduled meeting.


  • Michael Rossi - Board Chair
    Senior Jobs Advisor, Office of Governor Jerry Brown
  • John Brauer
    WED Executive Director - California Labor Federation
  • Bill Camp
    Delegate - Sacramento Labor Council
  • Jamil Dada
    Vice President, Investment Services - Provident Bank-Riverside County Branches
  • Diane Factor
    Workforce Education Center, Service Employees International Union (SEIU 721)
  • Mike Gallo
    President - Chief Executive Officer, Kelly Space and Technology, Inc.
  • Patrick W. Henning Jr.
    Director - Employment Development Department
  • David Lanier
    Secretary - Labor and Workforce Development Agency
  • Stephen Levy
    Director and Senior Economist - Center for Continuing Study of the California Economy
  • Robert Redlo
  • Alma Salazar
    Vice President, Education and Workforce Development - Los Angeles Chamber of Commerce
  • Jeremy Smith
    Deputy Legislative Director - State Building and Construction Trades Council
  • Abby Snay
    Executive Director - Jewish Vocational Services, SF
  • Joseph Williams
    Youth Action Project
  • Carol Zabin
    Director of Research - UC Berkeley Labor Center